Deleting a Cloud Extension
Deleting a Cloud Extension terminates both Velostrata Edge Node-A and Node-B.
- For GCP, when a Cloud Extension is deleted, the corresponding storage bucket is set with a rule to delete all content.
- For AWS, the Cloud Extension S3 bucket is configured with a Lifecycle rule that marks the bucket to be deleted within one day.
- For Azure, when a Cloud Extension is deleted, the corresponding resource group is deleted, including all its resources, such as the storage account.
A Cloud Extension can be deleted only if it has no Virtual Machines running in the cloud. You can delete a Cloud Extension via the Velostrata Web Management or via vCenter:
Via Velostrata Web Management
1. Login to your Velostrata web management appliance via HTTPS://IP_OF_VELO_MGMT and login.
2. Click the Target Cloud icon.
3. Left click to select any of your defined Cloud Extensions which are stopped.
4. Click the 'Delete' button.
Note: you can only delete a Cloud Extension that is currently stopped.
5. Click 'Yes' to proceed when prompted. Or 'No' to cancel.
- On the VSphere Web Client, select Datacenter > Velostrata > Delete Cloud Extension.
- Select the Cloud Extension to delete and click Delete.
The process of deleting the Cloud Extension can be viewed on the Velostrata Cloud Extension portlet on the Datacenter Summary page, and by monitoring the created vSphere task.