Cancelling the Detach
Once the VM is detached (and when the VM is showing as Ready for Detach) and for some reason you wish to go back to use the Velostrata cache, you can stop or cancel the detach process. This deletes the AWS EBS or Azure storage, and moves the system back to the state it was before the detach started - fully cached. In vSphere the menu option is Cancel Detach.
Note: Potential data loss may occur if the VM disks were changed when the VM was already in "Detached" state and the VM wrote on the native disks.
You cannot rollback if you have run the detach cleanup.
- On the vSphere Web Client, select the desired Virtual Machine.
- Right-click on the required VM and select Velostrata Operations > Migration Operations > Cancel Detach.
- You will be prompted to type in four digits to confirm you want to cancel.
- Once you confirm, the storage migration state will change to "Cancelling Detach".
- When the cancellation is complete, the storage migration state will change back to "Fully Cached".
To rollback the detach via PowerShell, run the follwing command:
get-vm myserver | Stop-VelosDetach